HAVE QUESTIONS?

cmos@cmos.ca

STAY CONNECTED    

Tour Speakers

2017 CMOS TOUR SPEAKERS (see schedule )


 
 
Dr. Richard Dewey

Ocean Networks Canada, University of Victoria




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
   Presentation Topic:
   Recent Pacific Anomalies: Oscillations, El Nino, and    The Blob

The Pacific Ocean has exhibited a number of major anomalies during the last few years, generally responding to large scale atmospheric patterns. Some of these patterns have been seen before, including the Pacific Oscillation dating back over nearly a century. However, recent occurrences have been detected under the shadow of climate change and in the presence of enhanced observing and forecast systems. Our ability to detect, characterize, and correlate these patterns continues to advance, while our ability to predict and understand the causes and linkages remains somewhat limited. In this overview of major events dating from 2012 through to the end of 2016, we will piece together some of the puzzle, or puzzles, peculiar to the northeast Pacific to reveal what we know and don’t know about this critical region    
                                                                                     

About Richard Dewey
Richard Dewey is an Oceanographer, with degrees in Physics and Oceanography from the Universities of Victoria and British Columbia, respectively. He built his career as a sea-going observationalist, with stop-overs in Corvallis and Seattle before returning to UVic in 1995. As one of the original architects of the VENUS and NEPTUNE ocean observatories, he now manages the interdisciplinary science programs enabled by the comprehensive systems operated by Ocean Networks Canada, in Victoria. A thirty year member of CMOS, he is proud to represent Canada’s leading role in the world of cabled ocean observatories. With observing comes the demand for explaining strange signals, as was the case in 2014 when anomalously warm waters showed up in the northeast Pacific.                   

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

 

Previously in 2016:

 Francis Zwiers, 
  
Director of the Pacific Climate Impacts 
  Consortium,  University of Victoria
  Francis Zwiers
Presentation Topic:
Changing extremes - is it real, or just imagined? 
Today's electronic and print media are replete with stories about extreme weather and climate events from all over the world.   
These stories draw our attention because of their immediacy and the devastating impacts of these events,  which often result in deaths and hundreds or even billions of dollars in damage. 
In the aftermath of such devastation, media raise questions over whether extreme events are more frequent and intense than in the past, 
whether human activity is a driving force behind long-term changes, and most inevitably, if the particular event just passed was caused by human influence on the climate. 
All three of these questions will be discussed, and an overview will be given on the latest answers that climate science can provide

The talk is available in the CMOS Webinar Webpage
 Prof. Ronald Stewart 
University of Manitoba


Ronald Stewart
Presentation Topic: 
Hazardous Near 0°C Precipitation 

Winter precipitation affects all of us in Canada and it is often leads to hazardous conditions. This certainly applies to the precipitation falling near 0°C (including freezing rain, ice pellets and wet snow) but there is still considerable uncertainty regarding its characteristics, formation, detection and simulation. This limits our monitoring efforts as well as our predictive capability at all time scales. Such issues will be reviewed in this presentation.

 



  Previously in  2015:

Kumiko Azetsu-Scott,
SIC Subgroup 2 - Bedford Institute of Oceanography
   Kumiko Azetsu-Scott
Presentation Topic:
About 1/4 of carbon dioxide (CO2) released by human activities to the atmosphere since the start of the Industrial Revolution in the 1800s has been taken up by the oceans.  This service has slowed down the accumulation of CO2 in the Atmosphere, but there is a price to pay.  CO2 dissolves in the surface water and forms carbonic acid. This carbonic acid has caused a decrease of ocean pH by 0.1 units over the past 200 years, which is equivalent to a 30% increase in acidity.  If global emissions of CO2 continue at the present rate, ocean pH is predicted to fall an additional 0.3 units by 2100.  The oceans have not experienced such a rapid pH change or one of this great a magnitude for at least the last 55 million years, raising serious concerns about the ability of the ecosystems to adapt. “Ocean Acidification” has become a focus of active research over the last decade.  Accelerated efforts to understand the extent and impact of ocean acidification are underway.  Mechanisms of ocean acidification, possible impact on marine organisms and ecosystems, climate feedback and issues related to Canadians will be discussed.

  Dr. Charles Hannah, Dr. Charles Hannah
Presentation Topic:
An overview of the oceanographic component of the World Class Tanker Safety Initiative
The World Class Tanker Safety Initiative is a major program of the Government of Canada to improve the overall regime under which oil tankers operate in Canada. Oceanography plays a small but vital role in this initiative. This presentation will provide an overview of the oceanographic program for the North Coast of British Columbia. This includes results from deployments of a new low-cost satellite-tracked surface drifter, current meter moorings, observation of flow over a shallow sill, and the development of a high resolution circulation model for the fjord system of the North Coast of BC.

Link to the presentation given at CMC Dorval.  (Windows and Mac). 
  Short Biography:
Dr. Kumiko Azetsu-Scott is a research scientist at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography in Nova Scotia, where she leads the carbon and tracer group.  She is also an adjunct in the Department of Oceanography at Dalhousie University.  Her research interests include climate change and carbon cycles in the ocean, ocean acidification, ocean circulation and freshwater dynamics in polar oceans.  Her research focuses on the uptake and storage of atmospheric carbon in the deep ocean through deep convection in the Labrador Sea and carbon fluxes to waters downstream.  In addition, she investigates air-sea interactions, water mass formation and ventilation ages using transient tracers, chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) and Sulfur hexafluoride (SF6).  Dr. Azetsu-Scott also studies freshwater composition and fluxes in the Canadian Arctic Archipelago and the North Atlantic using multiple chemical tracers including oxygen isotope composition (δ18O), nutrient ratios and salinity.  Although ocean acidification is a global issue, polar oceans are inherently more vulnerable to ocean acidification than temperate or tropical oceans and Canada is one of the first countries in the world to have experienced indisputable impacts of ocean acidification.  Dr. Azetsu-Scott coordinates ocean acidification programs at DFO to understand temporal and spatial variability and their controlling factors in the Canadian Arctic Archipelago and the North Atlantic.  In collaboration with biologists, she is also studying biological responses to ocean acidification.  She is a lead author of the report on the Arctic Ocean Acidification to the Arctic Council (Arctic Monitoring Assessment Programme), a member of Global Ocean Acidification Observing Network (GOA-ON) and the Canadian representative for Global Ocean Ship-based Hydrographic Investigations Program (GO-SHIP).  Finally, she is an associate editor of the journal Environmental Reviews.
 
Email: Charles.Hannah@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Phone: (250) 363-6269
Region: Pacific
Office: Institute of Ocean Sciences
Short Biography:
Charles Hannah received his PhD from the University of British Columbia for modelling the circulation of the north coast of British Columbia. He then worked as a research scientist at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography in Dartmouth NS, for 20 years, where he worked on ocean circulation modelling, and the application of ocean models to a wide variety of problems including benthic habitat modelling, larval drift, and polynyas in the Canadian Arctic. In 2013 he returned to British Columbia and the Institute of Ocean Sciences in Sidney BC. He is the lead on the oceanographic component of the World Class Tanker Safety System for the north coast of British Columbia.  His career has completed the full circle back to the location of his PhD research.
   

 Previously in 2014:

Charles Thomas (Tom) McElroy, York University

Charles Thomas McElroy
T.McElroy with a double-monochromator Brewer Ozone Spectrophotometer. (Photo courtesy Environment Canada)

TITLE :  Ozone Science: From Discovery to Recovery - and Beyond 

ABSTRACT :  From the deployment of a Canadian ozone monitoring system during IGY in 1957 through the signing of the Vienna Convention for the Protection of the Ozone Layer in 1985 and up to the present, Canada has played a leading role in the measurement of ozone, worldwide.  Dr. McElroy was intimately involved in the ozone issue since 1970.  He will share his viewpoint on the contribution Canada has made to ozone science and on the influence the development of the Montreal Protocol in 1987 has had on global environmental discussions since.

SHORT BIOGRAPHY:

Professor McElroy, Ph. D., FCMOS, FRSC, holds the CSA/ABB/NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Atmospheric Remote Sounding in the Department of Earth and Space Science and Engineering at York University in Toronto.  Tom moved to York after retiring from a 36-year career at Environment Canada (EC) in 2011. 

His research at the University of Toronto and EC included the first differential, visible-light measurements of nitrogen dioxide in the atmosphere, the co-invention of the Brewer Ozone Spectrophotometer and the UV Index, now in use in 25 countries worldwide.  He designed and built instruments flown by two Canadian astronauts on the US space shuttle and is the designer and Principal Investigator of the MAESTRO (Measurement of Aerosol Extinction in the Stratosphere and Troposphere Retrieved by Occultation) instrument on the Canadian Space Agency's SCISAT satellite, still operating on orbit in its 11th year.  Tom is an author or co-author on more than 120 peer-reviewed publications.


(l to r) Clive Midwinter, Mareile Wolff and Tom McElroy installing diode array spectrophotometers at -35C on the roof of the PEARL laboratory at 80N on Ellesmere Island. (Photo courtesy of Pierre Fogal, University of Toronto)
Contact Information:

Professor C. Thomas (Tom) McElroy, Ph.D., FCMOS, FRSC
153 Petrie Science & Engineering Building
4700 Keele Street
York University
North York, Ontario, Canada  M3J 1P3

Tel: 416 736 2100 x22113
Cell: 416 570 5183
Fax:416 736 5817

EMAIL: TMcElroy@yorku.ca or C.T.McElroy@gmail.com
http://science.yorku.ca/tmcelroy
http://larss.science.yorku.ca
CSA/ABB/NSERC/YorkU Industrial Research Chair in Atmospheric Remote Sounding


Past Tour Speakers

Year Name Topic
2014 Tom McElroy Ozone Science: From Discovery to Recovery - and Beyond
2013 Denis Gilbert Oceans and Climate Change /  Océans et changements climatiques
2012 Eyad Atallah Where's the rain? A talk on the connection between tropical cyclones in the North Pacific and drought in Western Canada
2011 Thomas F. Pedersen Climate Change and the Pacific Institute for Climate Solutions: Blending Science, Social Science, Politics and Opportunity
2010 Jim Drummond Our PEARL Near the Pole: Atmospheric Research at 80oN
2009 Ken Denman Climate Change: a Collision of Science, Politics, Economics and Ethics / Le changement climatique : un choc d'idées scientifiques, politiques, économiques et éthiques
2007-2008 Ed Hudson Arctic Weather / Le Temps arctique
2006-2007 Fraser J.M. Davidson &  Dan Wright * Ocean Forecasts for Canadians: Improving safety at sea through prediction of ocean behaviour
2005-2006 Phil Chadwick Weather through the Eyes of Canadian Artists Featuring Tom Thomson and the Group of Seven
2005 Maurice Levasseur Testing the Iron-DMS-Climate Connection in the Subarctic Pacific  / Tester la relation fer-DMS-climat dans le Pacifique subarctique
2004 M.A. Jenkins Coupled Wildfire-atmosphere Modelling / Modélisation couplée feux de forêt/atmosphère
2003 Geoff L. Holland The Challenges, Past, Present and Future of Ocean Observing Systems
2002 Michel Jean Non-traditional Applications of Meteorological Modelling
2001 Howard J. Freeland Argo Armada - a Global Array of Profiling Floats
2000 Robert S. Schemenauer Fog and Fog Collection - Exploring this Hidden Water Resource
1999 Greg Flato The Cryosphere and Climate Change
1998 Natalie Gauthier The interMET Project: Using the Internet to Improve the Teaching of Meteorology in Quebec High Schools
1996-1997 William Hsieh Neural Networks for Short-Term Climate Prediction
1995-1996 Ambury Stuart How to Establish a Small Scientific Consulting Business
1994-1995 J.R.N. Lazier The North Atlantic Oscillation versus the Cold Fresh Fishless Labrador Sea
1993 A. Staniforth Numerical Forecasting of the Atmosphere
1992 Jim Gower Satellite Images - Where are we after 20 years?
1991 J.-P. Blanchet Global Climate Modelling
1990 M.I. El-Sabh * The International Decade for Natural Hazard Reduction - A Challenge for Canadian Meteorologists and Oceanographers
1989 David Phillips
Peter Zwack *
Canadian Weather Legends - Facts, Fallacies  and Fables
1988 Trevor Platt The Role of Marine Plant Life
1987 M. Khandekar - W. Canada
L.A. Mysak - E. Canada
Asian Monsoon Droughts and Floods
Ocean Wave Modelling
1986 D. Farmer Uses of Acoustic Techniques in Meteorology and Oceanography
1985 R. Portelli, B. Weisman  
1984 Warren L. Godson * Diagnosis and Prognosis of Atmospheric Science Controversies
1983 R.O. Ramseier * Passive Microwave Remote Sensing of Sea Ice
1982 P.A. Taylor Wind Power in Canada - Some Meteorological Aspects
1981 G.L. Austin, W.J. Emery  
1980 M. Glanz  
1979 A. Fraser  
1978 D.S. Davison  
1976 J. Maybank *   
1975 P.E. Merilees  
1974 A.G. Davenport  
1973 W.R. Frisken  
1972 M.B. Danard *  
1971 F.K. Hare *  
1970 T.R. Oke  
1969 K.M. King  

* = Deceased

Note:  For many years these Tour Speakers were supported by AES and DFO.

DES QUESTIONS?

scmo@scmo.ca

RESTEZ EN CONTACT     

Conférences itinérants

LE CONFÉRENCIER ITINÉRANT SCMO - 2017 (voir l'horaire )


 
 
Richard Dewey (Ph. D.),

Ocean Networks Canada, Université de Victoria

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
 Sujet de la présentation:

Anomalies récentes dans le Pacifique : les oscillations, El Niño et le fameux « Blob »

Au cours des dernières années, l’océan Pacifique a été le théâtre de plusieurs anomalies majeures, généralement en réaction aux systèmes atmosphériques de grande échelle. Certains de ces phénomènes sont déjà connus, y compris l’oscillation du Pacifique, qui date de près de cent ans. Toutefois, des occurrences récentes ont été détectées dans un contexte de changements climatiques et à l’aide de systèmes d’observation et de prévision améliorés. Notre capacité à détecter, à caractériser et à corréler ces phénomènes continue de progresser, tandis que notre capacité à prévoir et à comprendre les causes et les liens demeure plutôt limitée. Dans ce survol d’événements majeurs qui se sont déroulés de 2012 jusqu’à la fin de 2016, nous tenterons de tracer le portrait troublant du nord-est du Pacifique, afin de dévoiler ce que nous savons et ce que nous ignorons de cette région cruciale. 


 Conférencier itinérant de la SCMO : Richard Dewey
Richard Dewey est océanographe. Il détient un diplôme en physique de l’Université de Victoria et un diplôme en océanographie de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Sa carrière l’a souvent mené à réaliser des observations en mer. Après des escales à Corvallis et à Seattle, il est revenu à l’Université de Victoria en 1995. Ayant été l’un des architectes à l’origine des observatoires océaniques VENUS et NEPTUNE, il dirige maintenant les programmes scientifiques interdisciplinaires qu’ont rendus possibles les systèmes diversifiés qu’exploite Ocean Networks Canada, à Victoria. Membre de la SCMO depuis 30 ans, il représente fièrement le Canada dans son rôle de premier plan, dans le monde des observatoires sous-marins reliés par câbles. Avec les observations vient la nécessité d’expliquer les signaux suspects que l’on détecte, comme ce fut le cas en 2014, quand des eaux anormalement chaudes sont apparues dans le nord-est du Pacifique.                                 

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       

 

Auparavant en 2016:

 Francis Zwiers, 
 
Directeur des impacts climatiques du Pacifique  Consortium, Université de Victoria
  Francis Zwiers
sujet de la présentation: 

Conditions climatiques extrêmes - sont-elles réelles, ou tout simplement imaginées? 

Les médias électroniques et imprimés d'aujourd'hui sont remplis d'histoires au sujet de conditions météorologiques et climatiques extrêmes de partout dans le monde. 
Ces histoires attirent notre attention en raison de leur immédiateté et des impacts dévastateurs de ces événements, lesquels entraînent souvent des morts et des centaines ou voire des milliards de dollars de dégâts. 

Dans la foulée de telles dévastations, les médias soulèvent des questions quant à savoir si ces événements extrêmes sont plus fréquents et plus intenses que dans le passé, 
ou si l'activité humaine est une force motrice de changements à long terme ou, inévitablement, si l'événement particulier qui vient juste de se de passer a été causé par 
l'influence de  l'homme sur le climat. Ces trois questions seront discutées, et un aperçu sera donné sur les dernières réponses que la science climatique peut fournir

Le discours est disponible dans la page Web SCMO Webinar 

 Prof. Ronald Stewart 
Université du Manitoba


Ronald Stewart
sujet de la présentation:     
Précipitations dangereuses à des températures près de 0 °C

Les précipitations hivernales touchent tous les Canadiens et produisent souvent des conditions dangereuses. Cette affirmation s’applique très certainement aux précipitations qui tombent quand la température s’approche de 0 °C (et qui comprennent la pluie verglaçante, le grésil et la neige mouillée). Mais il existe une incertitude considérable relativement aux caractéristiques, à la formation, à la détection et à la simulation de ces précipitations. Ces lacunes limitent nos efforts de surveillance et nos capacités de prévision, à toutes les échelles temporelles. La présentation portera sur ces sujets. 

 


Auparavant en 2015:

Kumiko Azetsu-Scott,
SIC Subgroup 2 - Bedford Institute of Oceanography
 Kumiko Azetsu-Scott
sujet de la présentation:
Environ 1/4 du dioxyde de carbone (CO2) libéré dans l'atmosphère par les activités humaines depuis le début de la révolution industrielle dans les années 1800, a été absorbé par les océans. Ce service rendu par les océans a ralenti l'accumulation de CO2 dans l'atmosphère, mais il y a un prix à payer. Le CO2 se dissout dans l'eau de surface et forme de l'acide carbonique. Cet acide carbonique a entraîné une diminution de 0,1 unité du pH des océans au cours des 200 dernières années, ce qui équivaut à une augmentation de 30% de l'acidité.  Si les émissions mondiales de CO2 continuent au rythme actuel, le pH des océans est prévu diminuer de 0,3 unités de plus d'ici 2100. Les océans n’ont pas connu un changement de pH aussi rapide ni d’un de telle ampleur depuis au moins les 55 derniers millions d'années, ce qui soulève de graves préoccupations quant à la capacité des écosystèmes à s'adapter.  L’«acidification des océans» est devenu un sujet de recherche actif au cours de la dernière décennie. Une intensification des efforts pour comprendre l'étendue et l'impact de l'acidification des océans est en cours.  Les mécanismes de l'acidification des océans, l'impact possible sur les organismes et les écosystèmes marins, ainsi que la rétroaction climatique et les questions liées aux Canadiens seront discutés.
  Dr. Charles Hannah,
Dr. Charles Hannah
sujet de sa présentation:
Un aperçu de la composante océanographique de l’Initiative pour la sécurité des pétroliers de classe mondiale

L’Initiative pour la sécurité des pétroliers de classe mondiale est un programme important du gouvernement du Canada pour améliorer le régime réglementaire en vertu duquel les pétroliers opèrent au Canada. L’océanographie joue un rôle petit mais vital dans ce programme. Cette présentation donnera un aperçu du programme océanographique pour la côte nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Cela inclut les résultats des déploiements d'une nouvelle bouée dérivante de surface à faible coût suivie par satellite, des courantomètres ancrés, l'observation de l'écoulement en présence d’un seuil peu profond, et le développement d'un modèle de circulation à haute résolution pour le système de fjords de la côte nord de la Colombie-Britannique.
  Biographie - Kumiko Azetsu-Scott:
Dr Kumiko Azetsu-Scott est chercheure à l'Institut océanographique de Bedford en Nouvelle-Écosse, où elle dirige le groupe sur le carbone et les traceurs. Elle est également associée au département d'océanographie de l'Université Dalhousie. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur le changement climatique et le cycle du carbone dans l'océan, l'acidification des océans, la circulation océanique et la dynamique de l'eau douce dans les océans polaires. Ses recherches portent sur l'absorption et le stockage du carbone atmosphérique dans l'océan profond par la convection profonde en mer du Labrador et les flux de carbone vers les eaux en aval. En outre, elle étudie les interactions air-mer, la formation de la masse d'eau et l'âge de ventilation utilisant des traceurs transitoires, les chlorofluorocarbures (CFC) et l'hexafluorure de soufre (SF6). Dr Azetsu-Scott étudie également la composition de l'eau douce et les flux dans l'archipel Arctique canadien et dans l'Atlantique Nord en utilisant plusieurs traceurs chimiques y compris la composition isotopique de l'oxygène (δ18O), les ratios de nutriments et la salinité. Bien que l'acidification des océans soit un problème mondial, les océans polaires sont par nature plus vulnérables à l'acidification que les océans tempérés ou tropicaux, et le Canada est l'un des premiers pays au monde à avoir subi les effets indiscutables de l'acidification des océans. Dr Azetsu-Scott coordonne les programmes sur l’acidification des océans au Ministère des Pêches et Océans afin de mieux comprendre la variabilité temporelle et spatiale, et leurs facteurs de contrôle dans l'archipel Arctique canadien et l'Atlantique Nord. En collaboration avec des biologistes, elle étudie aussi les réponses biologiques à l'acidification des océans. Elle est un des auteurs principaux du rapport sur l'acidification de l’océan Arctique soumis au Conseil de l'Arctique (Programme d'évaluation du suivi de l'Arctique), un membre du réseau d'observation du « Global Ocean Acidification (GOA-ON) » et la représentante canadienne pour le Programme mondial de recherches hydrographiques sur des navires océaniques (GO-SHIP). Finalement, elle est aussi rédactrice en chef adjointe de la revue Environmental Reviews.
 
Email: Charles.Hannah@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Phone: (250) 363-6269
Region: Pacific
Office: Institute of Ocean Sciences
Biographie de Charles Hannah:
Charles Hannah a obtenu son doctorat de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique pour la modélisation de la circulation de la côte nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Il a ensuite travaillé comme chercheur à l'Institut océanographique de Bedford, à Dartmouth NS, pendant 20 ans, où il a travaillé sur la modélisation de la circulation océanique, et sur l'application de modèles océaniques à une grande variété de problèmes, y compris la modélisation des habitats benthiques, la dérive des larves, et les polynies dans l'Arctique canadien.  En 2013, il est retourné en Colombie-Britannique pour se joindre à l’Institut des sciences de la mer à Sidney BC. Il est le chef de file sur la composante océanographique de l’Initiative pour la sécurité des pétroliers de classe mondiale pour la côte nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Sa carrière poursuit donc son chemin par un retour au lieu où il a complété sa thèse de doctorat.
   

  Auparavant en 2014:

Charles Thomas (Tom) McElroy, York University

Charles Thomas McElroy
T.McElroy avec un spectrophotomètre Brewer à double monochromateur pour l'ozone. (Photo courtoisie Environment Canada)

TITRE :  Science de l'ozone: De l'exploration à la récupération - et au-delà

RÉSUMÉ :  De la mise en place d'un système canadien de surveillance de l'ozone au cours de l'Année géophysique internationale en 1957,  à la signature de la Convention de Vienne pour la protection de la couche d'ozone en 1985, et jusqu'à présent, le Canada a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la mesure de l'ozone, dans le monde entier.  Dr McElroy a été intimement impliqué dans la question de l'ozone depuis 1970.  Il partagera son point de vue avec vous quant à la contribution du Canada dans la science de l'ozone, et sur l'influence que le développement du Protocole de Montréal en 1987 a eu sur les discussions sur l'environnement mondial depuis.

BIOGRAPHIE COURTE:

Professeur McElroy, Ph. D., FCMOS, MSRC, détient la Chaire industrielle de recherche CSA/ABB/CRSNG en télédétection de l'atmosphère au département des sciences et du génie de la Terre et de l'Espace de l'Université York à Toronto. Tom a déménagé à l'université York suite à sa retraite en 2011après 36 ans au service d'Environnement Canada (EC).

Ses travaux de recherche à l'Université de Toronto et à EC incluent le premières mesures différentielles en lumière visible du dioxyde d'azote dans l'atmosphère, ainsi que la co-invention du spectrophotomètre à ozone Brewer et de l'indice UV, actuellement en usage dans 25 pays à travers le monde. Il a conçu et construit des instruments utilisés lors de missions par deux astronautes canadiens sur la navette spatiale américaine et est le concepteur et le chercheur principal de l'instrument MAESTRO (acronyme anglais pour "mesure par occultation de l'extinction des aérosols dans la stratosphère et la troposphère") sur le satellite SCISAT de l'Agence spatiale canadienne, encore en activité dans sa 11e année sur orbite. Tom est un auteur ou co-auteur de plus de 120 articles évaluées par les pairs.


(l to r) Clive Midwinter, Mareile Wolff and Tom McElroy installing diode array spectrophotometers at -35C on the roof of the PEARL laboratory at 80N on Ellesmere Island. (Photo courtesy of Pierre Fogal, University of Toronto)
Contact Information:

Professor C. Thomas (Tom) McElroy, Ph.D., FCMOS, FRSC
153 Petrie Science & Engineering Building
4700 Keele Street
York University
North York, Ontario, Canada  M3J 1P3

Tel: 416 736 2100 x22113
Cell: 416 570 5183
Fax:416 736 5817

EMAIL: TMcElroy@yorku.ca or C.T.McElroy@gmail.com
http://science.yorku.ca/tmcelroy
http://larss.science.yorku.ca
CSA/ABB/NSERC/YorkU Industrial Research Chair in Atmospheric Remote Sounding


Conférenciers itinérants passés

Anneé Nom Titre
2014 Tom McElroy Ozone Science: From Discovery to Recovery - and Beyond
2013 Denis Gilbert Oceans and Climate Change /  Océans et changements climatiques
2012 Eyad Atallah Where's the rain? A talk on the connection between tropical cyclones in the North Pacific and drought in Western Canada
2011 Thomas F. Pedersen Climate Change and the Pacific Institute for Climate Solutions: Blending Science, Social Science, Politics and Opportunity
2010 Jim Drummond Our PEARL Near the Pole: Atmospheric Research at 80oN
2009 Ken Denman Climate Change: a Collision of Science, Politics, Economics and Ethics / Le changement climatique : un choc d'idées scientifiques, politiques, économiques et éthiques
2007-2008 Ed Hudson Arctic Weather / Le Temps arctique
2006-2007 Fraser J.M. Davidson &  Dan Wright * Ocean Forecasts for Canadians: Improving safety at sea through prediction of ocean behaviour
2005-2006 Phil Chadwick Weather through the Eyes of Canadian Artists Featuring Tom Thomson and the Group of Seven
2005 Maurice Levasseur Testing the Iron-DMS-Climate Connection in the Subarctic Pacific  / Tester la relation fer-DMS-climat dans le Pacifique subarctique
2004 M.A. Jenkins Coupled Wildfire-atmosphere Modelling / Modélisation couplée feux de forêt/atmosphère
2003 Geoff L. Holland The Challenges, Past, Present and Future of Ocean Observing Systems
2002 Michel Jean Non-traditional Applications of Meteorological Modelling
2001 Howard J. Freeland Argo Armada - a Global Array of Profiling Floats
2000 Robert S. Schemenauer Fog and Fog Collection - Exploring this Hidden Water Resource
1999 Greg Flato The Cryosphere and Climate Change
1998 Natalie Gauthier The interMET Project: Using the Internet to Improve the Teaching of Meteorology in Quebec High Schools
1996-1997 William Hsieh Neural Networks for Short-Term Climate Prediction
1995-1996 Ambury Stuart How to Establish a Small Scientific Consulting Business
1994-1995 J.R.N. Lazier The North Atlantic Oscillation versus the Cold Fresh Fishless Labrador Sea
1993 A. Staniforth Numerical Forecasting of the Atmosphere
1992 Jim Gower Satellite Images - Where are we after 20 years?
1991 J.-P. Blanchet Global Climate Modelling
1990 M.I. El-Sabh * The International Decade for Natural Hazard Reduction - A Challenge for Canadian Meteorologists and Oceanographers
1989 David Phillips
Peter Zwack *
Canadian Weather Legends - Facts, Fallacies  and Fables
1988 Trevor Platt The Role of Marine Plant Life
1987 M. Khandekar - W. Canada
L.A. Mysak - E. Canada
Asian Monsoon Droughts and Floods
Ocean Wave Modelling
1986 D. Farmer Uses of Acoustic Techniques in Meteorology and Oceanography
1985 R. Portelli, B. Weisman  
1984 Warren L. Godson * Diagnosis and Prognosis of Atmospheric Science Controversies
1983 R.O. Ramseier * Passive Microwave Remote Sensing of Sea Ice
1982 P.A. Taylor Wind Power in Canada - Some Meteorological Aspects
1981 G.L. Austin, W.J. Emery  
1980 M. Glanz  
1979 A. Fraser  
1978 D.S. Davison  
1976 J. Maybank *   
1975 P.E. Merilees  
1974 A.G. Davenport  
1973 W.R. Frisken  
1972 M.B. Danard *  
1971 F.K. Hare *  
1970 T.R. Oke  
1969 K.M. King  

* = Décédé

Note:  For many years these Tour Speakers were supported by AES and DFO.